Health / Life / Make up / product review

My Top 5 Facial Exfoliators

The thing about beauty is… it is a rehearsal.

You are actually allowed to try and try and try again till you get it right.

However, there are some tryouts that scar you for life.

Some products no matter how great their reviews are leave you with heavy breakouts, uneven skin tone and even leave your skin untouched. The worst is still those that prompt a negative reaction that would take weeks and even months to get rid of.

Well, I’m here to help you break it down and sieve out ‘whats hot from whats not…’

I doubt that’s appropriate for this post but you catch my drift.

The following five products are pocket friendly and very effective. However, I have normal skin.. not oily, not dry so depending on your skin type, they might not work for you the way they worked for me. It is adviceable to find one that works best for you and stick with it. Don’t mix products on your face and don’t change them up either.

Here we go; In no particular order.

  1. Kiss My Face

I like KISS MY FACE because of the natural blend of products. (This is not a product review so I would not go into detail) 😦 Sorry

Jojoba, Sunflower Oil, Grape seed oil, Peppermint and Mint. It has a wonderful goofy scent I must add by the way. This worked really well for me. I actually used a sponge (gloves) when i used this product. I applied it at night and woke up with my feel good self. I really cannot remember how much it cost but it’s really good and I recommend it to you.

I did notice that it made my skin a tad bit brighter and I didn’t have the whole problem with blackheads while I was using it.  It does not dry out your skin unlike some others I know.

Oh wait, I think I got it for $12 which was back then when the Naira was about 200. So now it should be an equivalent of 4380. Yikes… that is pricey. I think when i bought it it was N2,400 or something. sigh 😦

It will literally ‘kiss your face’

 

2. Second on my list has to be

ACURE

Yes you guessed it.. it’s yucky green and it is not smooth at all. I’m a visual person, i have to like it before I use it so you can imagine the turn off when I squirted a bit out of the tube …  but I had bought it so I had to use it. It turned out great. 😀

Like “kiss my face”, it has a brightening effect. As you can see above, it is made of sea kelp, thus the unforgivable green, and Argan oil, cocoa powder and all. It was different from the plain white I was used to or tinted facial scrubs so I wouldn’t exactly hammer on how displeased I was.

c

It looked like dirt or mud or something scrapped off wet floor. But don’t knock it till you try it. ‘Judge not a book by it’s cover’ . 🙂

This was way cheaper. I remember well, I bought it at about N800… then… that’s like $4. But now,It had a price hike.. It’s like $10 . That is N3, 650 😦  What is going on with these crazy numbers.  It takes care of clogged pores really really well. I used this about twice weekly during the time ( then, time was a luxury ) I did not use a sponge with it… I just used my finger tips.

I used it with my friend (Chisom) and she had really sensitive skin. It was great for her.  She still uses it till date. Despite the price hike. It leaves your skin well moisturized. That’s something I felt was lacking in ‘kiss my face’ 🙂

3. Third, PONDS

Yes Ponds facial scrub ( clear solutions)  is as its name implies… It gives clear solutions.

*drumroll* it is anti-bacterial. I liked the fact that it is anti- bacterial. It wasn’t however harsh on my skin.

While I used this, there were no pimples nor breakouts.. even when Aunt Flo came around. Again, no breakouts (maybe I’m just lucky)  It is a deep cleanser. It is white, stained with spots of green. It come sin four (4) variants: 🙂

* Pond’s Clear Balance “Clear Solutions” Anti-Bacterial Facial Scrub

* Pond’s Clear Balance “No Blackheads” Deep Cleansing Facial Scrub

* Pond’s Clear Balance “Smooth Pores” Pore Tightening Facial Foam

* Pond’s Clear Balance “Oil Control” Skin Mattifying Facial Foam

I have only used The clear solutions and Oil control. I erroneously used oil control when I thought I had oily skin. Turns out I just used to over apply lotion to my face. ( silly me ) 😦

A friend of mine, (Damilola) used the ‘no blackheads’ and said it did NOT work out for her. She termed it ‘redundant’ ( I’m paraphrasing ) And she reacted with awful breakouts. I haven’t used it so I wouldn’t know… But it might not be useless to your cause. ‘different strokes for different folks’ 🙂 🙂

I bought this for N1760 that was about  $9 now its $10.40 which is currently N3,800.

 

4. Has to be

St. Ives

I must say, I am a personal fan of St. Ives as a brand … I have used the body wash in very recent times.  But not so much a fan of its facial scrub or cleaner.

Personally, I did not like This at first.. It felt like My almost perfect skin was getting rougher. I was like… what the blazes?! Then over time, I changed the variant and the second variant was way better. 😦

I do Not recommend this for sensitive skin. It is quite harsh. Very harsh actually.  The second variant although it gave me result, (over an unnecessarily long period of time, It always left my face feeling like I got stung or something. (burning sensation) That was not cool but after a long time…. It proved okay. JUST OKAY. 😦

I give it 2 stars..

No I do not like it … Did not don’t think I would ever… I would still use their body wash but the facial is not going anywhere near my face anytime ever.

You must be wondering why  it’s on this list then… Three of my Friends used this and swear by it. (hear say)  (Amaka, Muna and my neighbour Sylvia).. 🙂

I must however admit that Sylvia had it pretty rough.. her face was jam packed with blackheads and anything you could think of but after we bought this product together, her face cleared. Like it was so unbelievable. It cleared. It was so fresh and smooth. I thought I was living in some kind of film trick. She used it for over three months and voila. 😀

It was really cheap tho. I bought it at N700. That should be $1.99 or $2.

Muna says she bought hers for $6 and Sylvia bought hers for $5.50. Till date I wonder why mine was so cheap… 😦

This is the cheapest of the lot as opposed to JACK BLACK.

 

Finally, Number 5

Is None other than..

Jack Black (Deep Dive)

The most expensive one here.. This beauty was  N 9,500 that is about $26.50 now. I don’t know how much it is going for in the Nigerian market currently because I do not intend to buy it again. It’s way too expensive. 😦

It is actually intended to be a pre- shave cleanser  and scrub for guys but I do not regret using it as my facial scrub.  🙂

I must shamelessly say that I could not afford this on my own so I went ‘Splitsies’ with my BFF and her sisters. (4 of us bought it and shared it) 🙂

It is packed with oatmeal and vitamin E.  However, You have to allow it dry for about 5 minutes then wash it off very thoroughly.  I expected it to be really harsh since it’s for men but I enjoyed it.. No burning sensations. Take that St. Ives… :p 🙂

If this was not so expensive, It would have been declared my favourite.

It takes care of build up very very effectively. It is:

  • Fragrance-Free
  • Alcohol-Free
  • Colorant-Free
  • Paraben-Free
  • Sulfate-Free
  • Gluten-Free
  • Organic Ingredients
  • Suitable For All Skin Types
  • Cruelty-Free (Its gentle)

.

Thank You for reading 🙂 😀 🙂

Have you used any of these, How did it work out for you?

Please do share… which product works for you?

Shy Nini

 

 

Tell Me what you think

